Future of Tech Talk

Well, it’s been pretty quiet around here on the old Tech Talk blog.  I apologize for not posting very often – the main reason I did the Talking Tech Fridays was to keep posting on my radar.  It’s amazing how fast the days and weeks go by without a post!

We had a Tech Talk meeting today, which was fairly well attended.  We all gave updates on the cool new technologies our various libraries are implementing.  I couldn’t help but be impressed at some of the innovative things we are all doing despite the budget and staff cuts of the past few years.  Our libraries are doing a great job moving things forwards, and I think that’s something we don’t hear enough.

The main reason for this post, however, is that Tech Talk is really struggling.  Attendance this year has been low, participation is low, and the blog is foundering.  We’ll be meeting in July to talk about leadership and future directions of the MCLC Tech Talk, and indeed, to decide if we can even keep going.  Tech Talk has succeeded so far through the efforts of a few people, but if we are to continue, we need more involvement from all of you.

Here are a few questions to get your brains churning away on ideas and possibilities in advance of the July meeting:

  • Do you value Tech Talk? If so, why?  If not, why not?
  • Would you like to see more blog posts?  Would you be willing to help contribute to the blog on a regular basis?
  • Should Tech Talk limit itself to more regular blog activity about relevant information and move away from meetings and programs?
  • How often should Tech Talk meet, if at all? Should we still meet for 2 hours, or limit it to 1 hour? Or meet less often, but for a longer period of time?
  • Would you prefer meetings to be in-person at various libraries, or virtually?
  • If we have meetings, what would entice you to go? Hands-on workshops? Updates on what we’re all doing? Presentations? Open discussion?
  • Would you be willing to help schedule programs, or give a presentation, or lead a workshop?

Think about these questions.  Feel free to post comments if you like, but if at all possible, come to the meeting on July 27th and join us as we explore our future possibilities.

Thanks!

~ by Anali on May 25, 2010.

One Response to “Future of Tech Talk”

  1. I have no idea if I can make it to tech talk or not – desk schedule, dontcha know.

    I have a newsfeed heavy with tech-stuff that I read regularly. I share items directly to librarylandroundup.blogspot.com. I also try to pick up trends from the stream and put them in the blog, but it tends to be spotty due to time constraints.

    The blog and newstream also includes Reader’s Advisory.

    If we had an easy way for me to post the links on this blog, either from my shared feed, posting important links, or me letting you all know when I’ve written please let me know. I would be glad to do so.

Comments are closed.