Talking Tech Friday – Security

Recent events in my life have kept internet security in the forefront of my mind.  I thought that was as good an excuse as any to share a few online security tips.  Some of this is common sense, but most I’ve learned from my favorite tech blog, Lifehacker!

Passwords

I spend a lot of time at the computer, online, and a great deal of both my personal and professional life takes place in the cloud.  Consequently, I have a lot of passwords.

Passwords are a pain: you’re not supposed to use the same one for everything, some employers require you change your passwords on a regular basis, but you have to remember them all!

Fortunately, there are some great tips and tools that can help:

First – here are some password dos and don’ts.

And – how to create some strong and memorable passwords.

But of course, there are tons of them.  On all of my computers, I use Firefox to save and remember my most important passwords, and on my work computer, I’ve locked them with a master password.  I will now be locking all my computers in this way, which is what I’d certainly recommend. (Internet Explorer doesn’t have a comparable feature, but there are other addons that will do the trick).

If you can’t use Firefox, or would like something more secure, here is a list of Lifehacker’s Five Best Password Managers.  A friend of mine has repeatedly recommended that I try KeePass, and I’m seriously considering it.  It can be a very powerful tool, especially when combined with Dropbox to sync across all your computers.  My friend gave another useful tip: store the serial numbers of your electronics in KeePass as well.  Here are some setup instructions.

Protecting data

Passwords are only part of protecting your data (though granted, the biggest part).

Top 10 Ways to Lock down your Data: some really great tips here

How to Secure your Laptop: some of these might be a little TOO paranoid for my taste, but they are useful to consider, regardless.

And a quick rundown on Internet Security 101

Be safe – but not scared.  🙂

~ by Anali on October 16, 2009.