Talking Tech Friday – Electronic Signatures

Today, I’m going to do something a little different.  I’ve been meaning to create an electronic signature for ages, and it occurred to me that I  might not be the only one.  So, I’m going to walk you through the process as I do it.

I’m creating one by scanning my real signature and making my own file – not by sending it in to some company to make for me.  I guess you can do that, if you prefer.  That’s probably the easiest, if not the cheapest!

First off- here are the tutorials that I’m using as reference:

So first, and perhaps the hardest, is to write the signature!  I used a dark black ball-point pen and actually used cardstock instead of regular paper – I liked the texture of the pen better – with about 3 large signatures on it.

After scanning it, I saved the .tiff file on my computer and opened it using Microsoft Paint.  I selected the signature I liked best, and saved it to a separate file.

At this point, I spent a lot of time dithering around about what editor I should use – I don’t have Photoshop, and I don’t think my favorite online editor has the option to remove the background.  Fortunately, Gimp was already installed on my computer, so I thought I’d give it a try.  (Is it just me, or is Gimp really intimidating?  I seriously don’t understand what 90% of the tools do!)

Following the tips from commenter 1 on the first tutorial, I adjusted the color levels automatically, selected regions by color, and feathered the edges.  Then I copied the selection and saved it into a new file with a transparent background. However, once I did that, the final product looks too sketchy:M

Clearly, I need to make this a little better.  But I can’t figure out how and am out of time!  To be continued next week!

~ by Anali on September 18, 2009.

One Response to “Talking Tech Friday – Electronic Signatures”

  1. […] talking tech | Leave a Comment  So, when we last left our Talking Tech Friday on creating electronic signatures, we had saved it to a transparent background, but determined that the quality was […]

Comments are closed.