Talking Tech Friday – Random Linkage

Well, I’m feeling lazy today and don’t have any services I’m in the mood to review, so I thought I would just give you a link collection of sites I think are pretty cool, but don’t really need a full review.

  • Fantastic Fiction – This website may not have the best design, but it has some great content! It’s a bibliography of works by over 25,000 fiction authors, with information on over 300,000 books. I find it particularly useful for finding information on series – while I can often find a listing of other titles in the series in the book or elsewhere, this will give me the actual order!  Check out the author page on Kevin J. Anderson, whose Hidden Empire series I’m currently mowing my way through.
  • Ditto – this is a downloadable clipboard manager that allows you to store and retrieve multiple clippings.  If you do as much repeated copying and pasting as I do, this would be a useful tool.
  • Free Rice – a vocabulary game that donates 10 grains of rice to the U.N. World Food Program for each correct answer.  Surprisingly addictive and for a good cause!
  • What Should I Read Next? – a website that lets you plug in the title or author of a book you enjoyed and it will send you a recommendation of a book that is similar.  Useful for those brainless summer reads.
  • Instructables – this website has tutorials for just about anything. I mean it.   Anyone can upload a tutorial or how-to video on any subject.  I got some great tips on cooking pancakes.  If you can’t find a tutorial on a topic you want, you can submit a suggestion and wait for the hive mind to answer it.  Very cool site!

Okay, that’s it for this week.  Next week I’ll really review something!

~ by Anali on July 10, 2009.

 
