Talking Tech…Monday.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who is just slammed with work this time of year, so I don’t feel TOO bad about not posting on Friday.  Also, many thanks to Steph for posting a reminder of Michael Stephens’ visit in March!

I saw many Tech Talkers at the AzLA Annual Conference last week, which was a pleasure.  We also got a plug from one of the speakers, who mentioned that our humble blog is one of her top resources to keep up with new technologies.  It’s nice to be appreciated!

Now, on to this (or rather, last) week’s review: fd’s Flickr Toys!

What is it?

fd’s Flickr Toys is a collection of tools to help you do “fun stuff” with your photos.  I first learned about it a few years ago by joining the Librarian Trading Card pool on Flickr, but recently discovered a treasure trove of tools.  You can make customized jigsaw puzzles, calendars, cd album covers, ID badges, posters, LOLcat generators, blog headers, photo widgets, and many more.

How does it work?

For most of the toys, you can either upload a photo from your computer or choose one from your Flickr photostream.  Then, you just follow the directions for the particular application.  They are all very simple and easy to use (at least all the ones I’ve tried).

For example, here’s an ID badge – I just selected a photo, chose a layout and colors, input my desired text into the fields, and presto!
Badge

This took less than 5 minutes to create.

Similarly, here’s a motivational poster:
Poster

The hardest part is coming up with witty text!

You can also purchase prints of your creations for what seems to me to be a reasonable cost.

You can use fd’s Flickr Toys without registering, but you can choose to register for a free account for a few additional features, such as keeping a record of your creations, or creating high resolution versions.

Possible Library Uses

I think this is a great suite of tools for outreach and marketing for any library event or service.  You could make fun badges for your staff, posters for events, customized library calendars or puzzles – your creativity is the limit!  I’ve already found several possibilities for my personal use, and I would definitely recommend these tools for quick and easy library-related creations.

~ by Anali on December 15, 2008.