Talking Tech Friday – Getting Things Done

As with most of you, I’m sure, October and November have been super busy months for me. I’ve had difficulty making, or taking, the time for Talking Tech Fridays, but I know there’s no real excuse for slacking off.  I’ve just dropped the ball on getting a few things done.  So this week, I thought I’d review a few tools to help.

My Current Solution – Protopage

I’ve mentioned before that I use Protopage for my home page to manage a lot of my work, gather links, embed Pandora, Backpackit, and del.icio.us, etc.  Protopage also offers To-Do list widgets, which allow you to create a list, add sub-items to the list, and include check boxes.  Protopage uses Ajax script, so you can click and drag items to sort your list.  Additionally, Protopage just launched a new mobile version which is pretty nifty, in my opinion.  I think it’s a good solution – my problem is that I sometimes don’t take the time each day to set out my to-do list, which is compounded by the fact that I sometimes ignore my to-do list.  It seems that I’m probably the problem.

Remember The Milk

Remember the Milk is the to-do application I hear the most praise about.  It requests information about your to-dos, so you can set due dates for tasks.  It is pretty compatable with most other applications, specifically with Twitter, Gmail, Google Calendar, and also has an iPhone application and works with other mobile phones.  You can also set it up to send you reminders via email, text message, or IM.  It really is good for enabling best time management practices by encouraging you to set priority levels, view your to-dos by date, set repeatable tasks, etc.  I’m starting to think I should give this a try – one of my biggest problems (other than sticking to my to-do lists) is prioritizing tasks.

Ta-Da Lists

Ta-Da Lists is the 37 signals (makers of Basecamp and Backpackit) to-do application.  Making lists is very simple, and you can share them with others, email them to yourself, or subscribe to them via RSS feed.  It supports most browsers and the iPhone. This is very bare bones, and I doubt I’ll switch – I need a little more functionality than this offers.  However, I think it’s great for people that just need some very simple to-do lists in one place.

Voo2do

Voo2do is a task management to-do list application that lets you organize tasks by project, assign priorities, due dates, and track time spent.  You can add tasks by email, add notes to tasks, and make public task lists.  I think it’s pretty attractive, and maybe worth some experimentation to see if it would work for.  I don’t see any mention of mobile support, though, so that might be a deal breaker for my needs. I do like the time tracking feature, however – I tend to maybe spend a little too much time on things, such as Talking Tech Friday posts!

Other Homepages

I know that both Netvibes and iGoogle also have to-do list widgets, so if you’ve set up personal homepages on either of those services, that might work best for you.  Zoho Planner also has to-do list options that coordinate with a calendar, appointments, and notes.  You can add items via email, but there doesn’t seem to be a mobile version, which is definitely a must for me.  Zoho Planner can also be synched to your favorite icalendar application.

Downloads

I normally don’t download applications (with exception of my beloved Digsby), but here are a couple of to-do options that I’ve heard quite a bit about:

Thinking Rock – an open source application that follows the GTD methodology.  It has an attractive interface, and has gotten some good reviews.  It looks a little too complicated for my taste, but maybe it would be worth a shot.

Resources

I love Lifehacker for tips on both GTD strategies (email triage RULES), and applications, so much of this post was based on that.

Lifehacker: Five Best GTD Applications

Tech Crunch also provided some guidance.

Tech Crunch: Online To Do Lists Compared

What are your favorite productivity strategies or tools? Let’s hear it – I know I’m not the only one who could use the help!

~ by Anali on November 14, 2008.

4 Responses to “Talking Tech Friday – Getting Things Done”

  1. For online GTD apps, you cannot beat Nozbe

    I’ve written several posts that provide details about my experiences with GTD and the applications I use on my blog at
    http://johnkendrick.wordpress.com/how-to-gtd/ John

  2. A good list of GTD apps. I would add to the list http://task2gather.com. It is quite new collaborative tool that allows you to share and discuss all your tasks on-line.

  3. Very good listing of personal productivity tools for GTD. I think that most of these tools are great “trusted systems” for all your personal items and actions.

    To manage your “waiting for” folder, you might want to check out Pelotonics. It is a group collaboration system that manages all of the things that you are working on as a group. There is a big difference between personal tools and group ones. GTD is great, but in my view it was lacking when it came to the “waiting for” folder. That’s where all my time was being spent!

    Thanks, for sharing…

    Troy Malone
    Pelotonics.com

  4. For implementing GTD you can also try this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.

Comments are closed.

 
