Talking Tech Friday – Feedsifter

This week’s column is for a service I’ve been meaning to try out for myself, so I thought I’d give you all the benefit of my experimentation.  I know that many of you still don’t use RSS feeds or aggregators, but if you’re a junkie like me, you’ll find that it’s easy to be overwhelmed by blog subscriptions!  That’s why there’s Feedsifter!

What is it?

Feedsifter is a service that lets you filter an RSS feed according to keywords that you set up.  This is especially useful for high-volume blogs such as Boing Boing, Wired, Docuticker, Resource Shelf, Slashdot, or WoW Insider.

How does it work?

It’s very simple – you put in the RSS feed of the blog you’d like to filter, then you add your criteria.  For my example, I chose Docuticker’s RSS feed, and filtered it by keywords “education”, “environment”, “CRS”, “GAO”, and “Human Rights”.  I got the idea for some of these keywords from the categories used by Docuticker.  I’m a regular subscriber, and typically Docuticker has about 20 posts a day.  The filtered feed generated 3.

That’s all there is to it.  I think that I would probably keep both feeds running, so I could tweak the sifted feed to make sure I got the posts I wanted to see.  Eventually, I’d hope that I’d be able to replace my regular subscription with the one I sifted.

Possible Library Uses

I’m not sure about uses for the public, unless you wanted to help patrons set up customized feeds.  I think it’s more useful for librarians or staff who are keeping track of a lot of different blogs to help manage their information overload.

Anyone else use Feedsifter?  Or another service?  Let me know in the comments!

Reviews

~ by Anali on August 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “Talking Tech Friday – Feedsifter”

  1. Anali, this week’s tech review is great as usual. have you done a review of Gimp? My 11-year old son came home from summer camp raving about it’s uses as a digital photo editor. If you haven’t done it yet, maybe there’s future column there. Thanks!

  2. Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll add it to my list – I love playing with photo editors!

Comments are closed.