Have you done any editing in Wikipedia?

I’m looking for anyone in town who knows anything about editing an article in Wikipedia. Right now my library’s article is a categorized as a “stub” (sounds less than impressive, doesn’t it) and I see that other libraries have nice entries (not exhaustive but they do include some history, mission, and descriptions of services).

So, I am looking for anyone with experience with editing Wikipedia articles to give me some advice and help me get up to speed. I know I’m probably opening a can of worms but it does seem like a good idea to have control over your library’s presence in the largest encyclopedia in the world, doesn’t it?

Comment here or email me directly.

~ by Mary (from Phoenix Public) on January 12, 2008.

One Response to “Have you done any editing in Wikipedia?”

  1. Mary,
    I suggest that you start with Wikipedia’s Help Page, especially pay attention to “What Wikipedia is Not” under it’s Policies and Guidelines. I considered editing the entry long time ago but didn’t because I thought the link to PPL’s official site was sufficient should users want to find more information. However, you might know something I don’t. 😉

Comments are closed.

 
