Wii, Youtube, and Google Maps

I want to thank everyone who patiently listened to my somewhat tortured explanation about Teen Gaming at Scottsdale Public Library System. I spoke to a couple of attendees, but wanted to make the following offer to any library in the Valley. I have a Wii but play with it very rarely, if you want to borrow it to try a gaming program or to show to Management/Library Board (to get money to purchase one), send me an e-mail (rglady@scottsdaleaz.gov) and I will arrange for you to borrow it (the Wii is mine not the library’s). For those that had the time to stay and try the Wii, it was fun and after a couple of lessons-very easy.

I have been busy experimenting with the online tools both spoken about at May’s meeting (podcasting/vodcasting) and Google Maps. Roseline requested that I put up the links to my experiments, so here we go:

Youtube video of the new Arabian under construction: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vj1txbS6e7w If, for whatever reason, the link does not work, in the search box at Youtube, enter “Arabian Library Scottsdale.” Compared to what we saw at ASU, the work is very amateurish, but it was a start and hopefully more, better quality videos are coming down the pike.

Google Maps: Go to the Google home page. Click on Maps. Type in “Scottsdale Libraries” in the search box. When the results are displayed, go to the bottom of the reults and click on “See User Created Content.” The first item on the created list is “Civic Center Library.” Click on the “Scottsdale Libraries” in green and the map I created showing the locations of the 5 (Appaloosa as well) libraries will pop up as well as a short description for each library. I haven’t been able to get the pictures to work, yet. They are linked to Flickr and I think the files are too big.

Google maps was free and pretty easy. The video was a bit more challenging, but I followed the advice of our teachers at ASU and bought an Apple laptop to do the editing. If I can help anyone try these tasks, please send me an e-mail at the above address. I have found the greatest success comes when one or a small group try these tools out and if I can do it, anyone can. Rick Glady, Scottsdale Public Library

~ by libric199 on July 25, 2007.

2 Responses to “Wii, Youtube, and Google Maps”

  1. Thank you, Rick. I actually quite enjoyed your presentation — casual but informative after all. It’s very generous of you to share your Wii and the result of your playing with technologies. I can see you present at another TechTalk meeting in the near future ….

  2. Thanks for the info.

Comments are closed.

 
