Trying Out Twitter

I just signed up a Twitter account, wanting to find out what this most popular software during the BIGWIG Social Software Showcase unconference is all about. I also sent invites to four friends and worried, as someone who values privacy, if they would remain my friends after getting my solicitation.

In short, Twitter is a social software that allows you to send updates to your friends by e-mail, IM, the Twitter Web site and texting. Users can also choose to subscribe to the RSS feed of your Twitter page to receive the updates. At a first glance, I couldn’t figure out the social significance of something trivial and noisy like this. Then I was enlightened by an article on Twitter in the Wired magazine.

David Lee King posted a Twitter screencast and its applications in the BIGWIG Social Software Showcase wiki. Casa Grande Public Library currently has a Twitter page where they post “all the fun stuff at Casa Grande Public Library.”

I don’t know the implication of this technology yet but decide to give it a try anyway. If you would like to experiment or experience Twitter with me, e-mail me to receive an invite. (I can’t believe I just said that on TechTalk. What will happen to my public image, my privacy and my T-mobile account which charges me five cents for every text message I send or receive? Oh, well, I guess that’s what you do when you love your job!)

~ by Roseline on July 8, 2007.

5 Responses to “Trying Out Twitter”

  1. Very cool. Why don’t you post your twitter address so people who already have twitter can add you? http://twitter.com/jdscott50 or http://twitter.com/cglibrary

    And to note, don’t use your phone if you are going to use twitter. Most people figured that out after getting 10 dollars worth of text messages from the talkative people. There are so many twitter apps to stay connected without using your phone.

    Thanks for the mention.

  2. I am going to leave the text messaging in my Twitter on for a while for the following reason — the two persons closest to me both text a lot. They would rather text the whole conversation with me than call me — go figure! I hope that talkative people won’t make to my friends list. http://twitter.com/kshanti/

  3. Believe it or not, Twitter is one place I’ve drawn the line – I have a hard enough time getting my friends to IM. But I feel confident I could do it, should I need to for work. I think that’s a good place to be.

    You should blog about it in a month, though, and let us know how you like it!

  4. To be honest, I deleted my Twitter account in a week, since there were many entries that made into my Twitter quite meaningless to me. One thing for the library to be cautious about using Twitter or any other similar technology is the potential to overwhelm its patrons. It’s better to let them decide when and about what they will get from you if they want to hear from you at all.

  5. […] – Twitter 22 02 2008 Well, Roseline’s done it to me – after I’d commented on her post last year about drawing the line at Twitter, she asked me to review it for Talking Tech.  I […]

Comments are closed.