Summer reading

Wow, things have been quiet around here! Isn’t it funny how we still expect things to slow down over the summer, but we wind up busier than before as we work on all the projects we put off until now?

Or maybe that’s just me…

I’m a little sad that we’re not having a meeting this month, but I thought that maybe it’ll give us a chance to digest and ponder some of the things we’ve talked about so far – and perhaps catch up on some library reading! You’ve all read the recommendations we put in the blogroll to the right, haven’t you?  I thought so…

Additionally, there are a couple of new books that have definitely made their way to MY reading list for this summer:

  • Everything is Miscellaneous by David Weinberger – some of my colleagues pointed this out to me, and I watched his presentation for the Google Tech Talk group (isn’t it nice that GOOGLE has a tech talk group?). He has some really intriguing ideas, and I am definitely looking forward to reading this book.

Anyone else have summer reading recommendations?  Let’s see ’em in the comments!

~ by Anali on June 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Summer reading”

  1. I am reading the Phoenix New Times article, “It’s a wrap: can the Web save Arizona’s largest newspaper”, about the changes at the Arizona Republic. So far, this article has many parallels to the Library profession and raises many thought-provoking questions that we are facing as a profession. The weblink to this article is:

    http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/2007-06-07/news/it-s-a-wrap/

  2. Well, I am trying to login to My Library Thing account but their site is down! I have to rely on my own memory for a change. BTW, I am in Taiwan visiting a couple of local public libraries in my hometown. I felt sad to see the state of the public libraries here — they really need to weed the collection and upgrade their furniture, in the meantime, get more new items. It’s kind of hard when they only have three professionally trained librarians for the main library. I am inspired by the book “Leaving Microsoft to Change the World” by John Wood though. It’s about his project bringing books to the children in Nepal. I downloaded the book to my computer and read it on my flight.

    On my to-read list, I have “Information Architecture for the World Wide Web” by Peter Morville, the author of “Ambient Findability” and “The Black Swan: the Impact of Highly Improbable” by Nassim Nicholas Taleb. Also, I finished “The Business Podcasting Bible: where my market is … I am” before I left for my trip. It is very marketing oriented but I found its resource section very useful, covering areas from leadership to Web design.

Comments are closed.