Innovative Online Library Catalogs

I wanted to confirm with you all that I submitted an AZLA conference session proposal this week for a session exploring innovative online catalogs. I’m hoping to incude Endeca Phoenix Public’ s latest catalog, AquaBrowser at Queens Library, the social OPAC (nicknamed the SOPAC) at Ann Arbor District Library, shared reader lists at Hennepin County , and anything else interesting I can find by November. I hope they accept my proposal since I think this would be fun session.

I want to thank all Tech Talk members and others who agreed to present, who offered to present, and who suggested presentations for the upcoming Arizona Library Association conference this year. It looks like there will many interesting offerings on the use of new technologies to reach out to customers.

In addition thanks to all who accepted my invitation to tell us what you wanted on the survey. Results are here. It was a great help to know that so many were interested in these topics and would attend a session exploring them.

It’s really true that we are all learning together, and it’s an exciting time for libraries as a result!

~ by Mary (from Phoenix Public) on May 12, 2007.

5 Responses to “Innovative Online Library Catalogs”

  1. I am very excited to see this program. This goes a long way to make the OPAC not suck as the saying goes. It was good to meet you at the New Planning for Results Workshop.

  2. Thanks for the kind words. Yes, catalogs are changing and actually getting better in my opinion. Finally!

  3. Dear Mary from PPL, as a former reference desk jocky from Phoenix, I’m pleased to read your proposal. It sounds like it will be a great presentation. Now that I work for AquaBrowser, I’d love to see this in November! (or sneak a peak at anybody’s notes) and if you need any information on the product or Queens Library’s implementation, please don’t hesitate to ask! Cheers, Anthony in Amsterdam.

  4. Hi Mary, Howard County Library (MD) is also doing some cool things with AquaBrowser. Give me a call at 877-694-1452 x109 if you’d like a personal tour of features staged to go live there soon. -Jimmy

  5. Thanks for your great comments. I am not yet an expert on AquaBrowser but will need to be by November’s presentation. Jimmy, when do the new features at Howard County’s system go live?

Comments are closed.

 
