Tagging and Libraries

Looks like we’ve slowed down a bit on the blogging here at TechTalk.  I know my excuse is a combination of busy with work and struggling to get over a cold – but I’m sure we’re all looking forward to our next meeting in 2 weeks!

Also, after our next meeting, we should have a better idea of what we want to do with the blog, so that should help us in making it interesting to you, and keep us on the ball with posting!

In case you haven’t already seen this, I thought I’d point you to the University of Pennsylvania’s PennTags project.   PennTags allows students and faculty to tag library items as a social bookmarking tool, a Web 2.0 concept that I believe Del.icio.us is most famous for (correct me if I’m wrong).

From their website:

” PennTags is a social bookmarking tool for locating, organizing, and sharing your favorite online resources. Members of the Penn Community can collect and maintain URLs, links to journal articles, and records in Franklin, our online catalog and VCat, our online video catalog. Once these resources are compiled, you can organize them by assigning tags (free-text keywords) and/or by grouping them into projects, according to your specific preferences. PennTags can also be used collaboratively, because it acts as a repository of the varied interests and academic pursuits of the Penn community, and can help you find topics and users related to your own favorite online resources.  “

So what do you think about social bookmarking?  Have you used Del.icio.us?  Do you think it’s valuable for libraries?

~ by Anali on February 15, 2007.

2 Responses to “Tagging and Libraries”

  1. Anali,

    I had a very bad cold too; as a result, I have a lot to catch up with. I will work on the RSS presentation this weekend.

    Thanks for sharing this information on tagging. At Phoenix, we are considering to enable tagging in our new Endeca catalog once we completely transition to the new website. As I understand, it is easy to implement technology-wise. Personally, I love tagging and it is the feature I appreciate the most in Library Thing.

  2. *applauds*

Comments are closed.