How do you keep up with technology?

Anali’s post led us to an interesting discussion about RSS feed aggregators or readers.  Dan mentioned he uses Bloglines to keep up with industry trends; Eric uses his My Yahoo!page;  Anali and Coleman use Protopage; and I use Netvibes.  If you use Internet Explorer 7, you will also notice its built-in RSS reader with functionality similar to creating bookmarks with “Favorites.”  Obviously, we like different readers for different reasons.  What is your favorite reader and why?

On a not-totally-unrelated topic, what feeds do you subscribe to in order to keep up with technological trends?  In addition to RSS feeds, do you take advantage of any other professional development venues (Hey, even bloggers travel distance to attend conference!)?

Here is my list of “how I keep up with (library) technological trends”:

How about you?  Care to share your list?  Post it in the comments and we will add the most popular ones to our blogroll.

~ by Roseline on January 18, 2007.

8 Responses to “How do you keep up with technology?”

  1. Roseline–
    Your feeds look a lot like mine. My favorites of the ones you mentioned are Amigos Training, Tame the Web, and TechCrunch. For library information, I also rely on Sarah Hougton-Jan’s Librarian in Black, Stephen Abram’s Stephen’s Lighthouse, and Karen G. Schneider’s Free Range Librarian. Of course, we also have to have fun, so I subscribe to Boing Boing and Random Good Stuff, too. I used to read Slashdot, and I still visit once in awhile, but there is too much to keep up with, and it’s not as relevant for libraries.

    I like the idea of podcasts, but I rarely use them. When reading, you can skip ahead, scan for important points, or jump to the end. That’s harder to do with a podcast. When I’m reading online, I can easily stop to answer a phone call, attend an ad hoc meeting, grab lunch, check incoming emails, etc.; then just pick up where I left off when I return. It’s much harder with a podcast. If you can schedule time, though podcasts and webinars are terrific sources of information. I’ve tried to encourage staff to use the SirsiDynix Institute, but haven’t had much luck yet generating enthusiasm. I think I may need to schedule them as if they were training classes, inviting attendees to a centralized event, then just keep emphasizing that, “Hey, you can do this in your own office, too.”
    –Dan

  2. I’m not surprised to see so many similar blog subscriptions and methods! Some of my favorite non-library blogs are Creating Passionate Users and Lifehacker to keep up with trends and tech. For library blogs to keep up on the latest trends, I read Meredith Farkas’ Information Wants to be Free and Library Stuff by Stephen Cohen, in addition to those mentioned above. But now I have a few more to add to my current 65 feeds!

  3. Good suggestions all around. These are great suggestions. I applaud your energy. I have just started learning about Library 2.0 technologies in the last few months and I find that a good way is to grab a fellow staff member that knows and ask them to spend 5 minutes showing me something. I leared a ton from Roseline already (expecially about librarything.com which has great model for tagging with patron generated content for libraries, and about what the rest of the library world is doing with her excellent reports from Internet Librarian).

    Oone other topic to bring up: Many staff have told me that they just don’t have the time it takes to learn about library 2.0 technologies. However if those staff members are using professional journals to keep up with their fields, I wonder if they would see the value in something like RSS. You don’t have to read the whole journal to get the columnists or topics you want to keep up with. Plus it’s updated instantly instead of weeks later. I see RSS feeds especially as a way to save time and get alerted about only the things you want to know about.

    But I don’t think I could keep up with 65 feeds! You rock Anali! How do you do it?

  4. Fortunately some of them don’t update as frequently as others. 🙂

    And, admittedly, a few are webcomics. It’s not ALL work!

  5. I’m a big fan of LibraryThing, too. I’m a little surprised that more of my colleagues dont’ know about it, let alone use it. For me, it’s a reading list, not a catalog of what I own. I was bragging to my wife the other day about how many books I’ve read over the past four years, which I could easily count by looking at my LibraryThing catalog. She said, “Oh, shut up.”

    But seriously, it has reviews, RSS feeds, suggestions, un-suggestions– it’s way cool, and just $25.00 for a lifetime subscription.

  6. I can’t agree more on what Dan said about LibraryThing. I use it as a reading list as well since as a library user I don’t have to own books at all. I found it much easier to do reader advisory now I “remember” the titles and authors of the books I have read. My favorites from LibraryThing are “Unsuggester” and the cat scanner.

  7. Anali, How did you get your photo uploaded with your profile. Is this easy to do? any advice you can give will be helpful.

  8. Mary,
    Once you login to your WordPress account, on your dashboard click on “User” and then “Profile,” you will find the button to upload your picture. It looks like you have successfully done so. It just takes a long time for it to become live. I uploaded my Second Life avatar snapshot quite a while ago and finally saw it today.

Comments are closed.